Tuesday, 15 October 2013

PBB: Taib Mahmud retains post, Toyad and five others vie for VP

Toyad presenting Taib with a tourism award last yearToyad presenting Taib with a tourism award last year

KUCHING: Former tourism minister, Datuk Seri Muhd Leo Michael Toyad will be challenged by four state assistant ministers and a former assemblyman for one of the three vice-president posts in Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) Sarawak elections on Wednesday.The others are Datuk Daud Abdul Rahman, the assistant minister in the Chief Minister's Office; Datuk Abdul Wahab Aziz (housing assistant minister); Datuk Talip Zulpilip (tourism assistant minister); Datuk Julaihi Narawi (industrial development assistant minister); and former Beting Maro assemblyman Datuk Bolhassan Di.

The list was announced by PBB's Election Committee chairman Datuk Amar Mohamad Asfia Awang Nasar on Monday.

Mohamad Asfia said party president Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud, who is Sarawak chief minister, was returned unopposed after nominations closed at 5pm.

Abdul Taib received a resounding endorsement from the party's 71 branches which wanted him to continue holding the position.

His two deputies, Tan Sri Alfred Jabu Numpang and Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg, were also returned unopposed, along with two senior vice-presidents in Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan and Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas.

Two vice-presidents for the Pesaka (non-Muslim) wing - Datuk Seri Michael Manyin Jawong and Datuk Alexander Nanta Linggi - also retained their posts uncontested.

Meanwhile, 14 candidates will contest for the 11 posts as supreme council members for the Bumiputera (Muslim) wing of the party.

Nine others posts in the supreme council reserved for the Pesaka wing were won uncontested. - Bernama

No comments:

Post a Comment