Wednesday, 31 July 2013

PRS offers G5 parking spot

Masing says door wide open for the former SPDP members to join his party

KUCHING: Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) has opened wide its doors to the five partyless former Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP) leaders known as the G5.

PRS president Tan Sri Dr James Jemut Masing said the G5 are free to join the party if they wish to do so.

They are Tasik Biru assemblyman Datuk Peter Nansian Ngusie, former Mas Gading member of parliament Datuk Dr Tiki Lafe, Marudi assemblyman Datuk Sylvester Entri Muran, Batu Danau assemblyman Paulus Palu Ngumbang and Bekenu assemblywoman Rosey Yunus.

“If the G5 want to join PRS, no demands and no conditions for them,” Masing said in a text message yesterday.

He was responding to Nansian’s statement on behalf of the group that they are considering joining other Barisan Nasional (BN) component parties because there is no longer a place for them in SPDP.

Masing pointed out that PRS will assist the G5 to improve their delivery of services to the people who had voted for them.

However, the Land Development Minister did not reveal whether the five had actually applied to join PRS.

Entri was sacked from SPDP in November 2011, while the other four were made partyless in January 2012.

Nansian is Assistant Minister of Community Services and Assistant Minister of Industrial Estate Development, Rosey is Assistant Minister of Early Childhood Education and Family Development and Entri is Assistant Minister of Public Utilities (Water Supply) as well as Assistant Minister of Agriculture (Farmers Organisation).

Meanwhile, Paulus is Miri Port Authority chairman and Dr Tiki is National Service Training Council chairman.

During the last parliamentary election, Dr Tiki failed in his bid to retain Mas Gading when he lost to Anthony Nogeh Gumbek of BN-SPDP in a four-cornered fight.

He polled 6,109 votes while Nogeh received 8,265 votes for a 2,156-vote majority.

Should the five join PRS, the party would have 12 state assemblymen.

SPDP currently has one state representative through its president Tan Sri William Mawan in Pakan.- theborneopost

No comments:

Post a Comment