Sunday, 21 July 2013

PRS divisions united in resolutions

STATUS QUO: Masing (fourth right) chairs the AGM.

KAPIT: The Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) Baleh, Pelagus and Katibas divisions passed similar resolutions during their respective main body, women’s wing and youth annual general meetings (AGMs) recently.

Its president Tan Sri Dr James Masing said this signified that the party is moving forward in one direction and voice.

“Each of the three divisions has successfully organised their respective AGMs to elect those committee members to lead the party for the next three years.

“I am happy to note that there was no dispute in the line-up of the exco members, which was done based on consensus from all the divisions at the main body, youth and women’s sections,” he said when officiating at the AGMs recently.

Among the resolutions passed are for there to be no contest for the president and deputy president posts, as well as full support for Barisan Nasional (BN) leaders Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Chief Minister Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud.

The divisions also agreed that a technical college should be set up in Kapit to train and equip local youths as skilled and semi-skilled workers for the Sarawak Corridor of Renewable Energy (SCORE).

They also called on the state government to review the existing Land Code, especially on native customary rights (NCR) and make necessary ammendments.

On the call by PRS Katibas division to speed up the construction of the Kapit-Song-Kanowit road, Masing said it has been budgeted for.

“Datuk Seri Najib’s word is as good as his promise and I am optimistic that the road would be completed in two years’ time,” he said.

Masing also put on record and acknowledged the contributions and service of former Hulu Rajang Member of Parliament Datuk Billy Abit Joo to the people in the constituency.

For PRS Baleh, Masing retained his post as chairman, while Philimon Nuing is PRS Pelagus chairman and Edward Minggu is chairman for PRS Katibas.

Bakat Gira retained his post as PRS Baleh youth chief, while Munah Luyoh was uncontested as Pelagus women’s wing chief.

Magdeline Mai also retained her post as PRS Pelagus women’s chief, while Nyong Aji is PRS Baleh women’s chief.-theborneopost

No comments:

Post a Comment